Glamour & Green's Gluten Free Blog

Gluten Free Gals Living Glamorously AND Green!

Gluten-Free and Soy-Free Soy Sauce January 9, 2012

I read somewhere that people who have food sensitivity to one kind of food, usually have food sensitivity to other food items as well. Well, that’s definitely the case with me, because although I have Celiac Disease (and avoid gluten entirely), I notice that I don’t do that well with soy either. I still have soy in my diet every now and then, but I try to skip the soy whenever possible.

That said, it was hard enough to find a soy sauce that was gluten free, but a soy sauce that was SOY free too??!! Uggghhhh. That created a brand new problem. Luckily, I found a great, free recipe online for a GF/SF soy sauce alternative! I made it a few weeks ago and it was great! Really easy to make and the result tasted very similar to soy sauce. Here is the recipe:

Gluten-Free, Soy-Free “Soy Sauce”

Directions:

  1.  Combine all ingredients in a small sauce pan and boil uncover until reduced to 1/2 cup.
  2.  Store in refrigerator.
  3.  Stir/Shake before using.

Here is the actual recipe link:

http://www.food.com/recipe/soy-sauce-substitute-gluten-free-111373

Because this recipe makes a whole ‘lotta “soy” sauce, I ended up keeping half of it in my fridge for about a week, and the rest of the sauce, I put in the freezer for another time.

Tip: Pour any extra sauce into an empty ice cube tray and freeze it! The next time your stir fry/marinade/lunch/dinner recipe calls for soy sauce, just pop out a frozen cube, and you will have tablespoon-sized servings of “soy” sauce! This tip will save you time and hassle when cooking! Yay!

-Glamour & Green Gluten Free

 

Leave a Reply

